Experienced Los Angeles Attorney Fights Your DUI Charges
Aggressive DUI Defense Firm Is On Your Side
Conviction of driving under the influence (DUI) leaves you with a criminal record and plays havoc with your professional and personal life. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you could face jail time and fines. At the Law Offices of Arash Hashemi, we work tirelessly to defend Los Angeles clients arrested for driving under the influence. We recognize what is at stake, and we fight to have the charges against you dismissed or reduced.
What is DUI?
In California, adults are driving under the influence if they have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher. The limit is 0.04 percent for commercial drivers. If you are between 18 and 21 years old, the DUI threshold is 0.01 percent. Drivers 18 or younger are prohibited from consuming any alcohol. If you have been arrested for DUI, seek help from a skilled criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. It’s especially urgent if you were arrested for DUI after a traffic accident.
California DUI penalties
The penalties for DUI are tough in California, especially if you have been convicted more than once. As part of your sentence, you may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in your car. An ignition interlock device analyzes your breath and prevents your car from starting if you have had too much to drink. The punishment for DUI in California includes:
- First offense: First-time offenders face four to six months in jail, between $1,400 and $2,600 in fines and a license suspension of 30 days to 10 months. Depending on which county you live in, you also may have to have an ignition interlock device installed.
- Second offense: If you are convicted of DUI a second time, you could receive between 10 days and one year in jail and be fined between $1,800 and $2,800. Your license could be suspended for two years, and you may have to install an ignition interlock device.
- Third offense: Third-time offenders face 120 days to one year in jail, $1,800 to $18,000 in fines, a three-year license suspension, and installation of an ignition interlock device.
DUI may be charged as a felony if you injure another person, have three or more prior DUI convictions or one other felony DUI conviction. The punishment for a felony DUI is a minimum 180-day jail sentence, $3,000 fine and four-year license suspension. You also must complete an 18-month alcohol education program.
When you are arrested for a DUI in California, you are entitled to an administrative hearing to challenge the suspension of your license by the Department of Motor Vehicles. You must request a hearing within 10 days of your arrest.
Let an experienced defense lawyer assist you in combatting a DUI charge
At the Law Offices of Arash Hashemi, we stand up for the rights of Los Angeles drivers arrested for driving under the influence. To schedule an initial consultation with a lawyer at our firm, contact us by phone at (310) 448-1529 or contact us online. We promptly return phone calls and emails. Our office is conveniently located inside the Westside Towers in Los Angeles and minutes away from Santa Monica, Beverly Hills and Westwood. We have flexible office hours, and we will visit your loved one in jail to discuss his/her case.